Call Today for a Free Consultation

Pueblo Colorado Sex Crimes Lawyer

All criminal charges are serious, but sex crimes can have a significant impact on your life forever. In addition to having a criminal history, there are other possible consequences of being convicted of a sex crime. You may be required to register as a sex offender if you are convicted, and you will have great difficulty in obtaining employment and finding housing after a sex crime conviction. If you’ve been arrested or have a reason to believe you are going to be questioned or arrested in the future, it’s imperative that you contact a Pueblo criminal defense attorney right away. Anaya & Chadderdon, P.C. has the experience you need to handle any type of sex crime case. Contact us today to schedule a free consultation.

Colorado Sexual Assault Charges

In Colorado, sexual assault is defined as any forced or non-consensual act of sexual penetration. If one of the parties is under the influence or not conscious, this automatically makes it non-consensual. In Colorado, this is a felony, and the possible sentence ranges from two years to life in prison. It also requires a lifetime registration on the sex offender registry.

Colorado Sexual Contact Charges

Sexual contact is a less serious form of sexual assault, but it should still be taken seriously. Sexual contact is defined as unlawful sexual contact, usually including touching, groping, or fondling. In Colorado, the crime of sexual contact is typically a class 1 misdemeanor and an extraordinary risk crime, which means it is considered to represent a substantial risk of harm to society.

Penalties for sexual contact range from six months to two years in jail and a fine of between $500 and $5,000. However, if the victim is drugged or otherwise compelled to submit to the sexual contact through the use of force, intimidation, or a threat, the crime can be charged as a felony. If charged as a felony, the potential penalty is between two and eight years in prison and a fine of between $2,000 and $500,000.

If you are accused of using a deadly weapon or threatening the victim with a deadly weapon, you could face five years to life in prison. If convicted of misdemeanor or felony sexual contact, you will be required to register as a sex offender.

Sexual Assault on a Child in Pueblo

Sexual assault on a child is defined as fondling a child under the age of 15 (or having the child fondle you) while being at least four years older than the child. Sexual assault on a child typically refers to sexual contact with a child rather than sexual assault or rape of a child. It’s still a serious crime but doesn’t carry as severe consequences as the sexual assault statute discussed above.

There is no requirement that the child has to be naked; touching them through their clothing is enough for a conviction of this statute.

This is a class four felony, and if convicted of this statute, you can face two to six years in prison and a fine of between $2,000 and $500,000. If you are convicted of using force or injuring the child during the sexual assault, you can be convicted of a class 3 felony and face life in prison.

Let the Pueblo Attorneys at Anaya & Chadderdon, P.C. Help You

As you can see, the penalties for sexual assault can be incredibly harsh. From prison sentences to being a lifetime registered sex offender, these are not charges that should be taken lightly. As a firm with former prosecutor experience, Anaya & Chadderdon, P.C. has a unique understanding of how to defend you. Our experience allows us to anticipate arguments that the prosecutor will make, which allows us to be proactive instead of reactive. If you need a Pueblo criminal defense lawyer or have questions about sex crimes in Colorado, contact Anaya & Chadderdon, P.C. today for a free consultation.