Pueblo Colorado Theft Attorneys
In Colorado, there are several different types of theft charges. Whether the crime of theft is charged as a misdemeanor or a felony typically depends on the amount of money or goods that was taken. If you or a loved one was charged with or questioned about a theft, you should contact a criminal defense lawyer in Pueblo right away. At Anaya & Chadderdon, P.C., we are highly experience and we truly care about all clients. When you hire us, you can be confident that the lawyer by your side truly cares about you and your case. Contact our law office to schedule a free and confidential case consultation.
Misdemeanor Theft (Larceny)
In Colorado, misdemeanor theft is defined as intentionally taking someone else’s property. If it’s worth more than $50 but less than $2,000, it would be considered misdemeanor theft.
To be convicted of felony theft, on the other hand, you must be convicted of intentionally taking another person’s property valued at more than $2,000. Identity theft is also a felony theft charge.
Common Examples of Theft
Examples of some of the most common types of theft in Colorado include the following:
To be convicted of shoplifting, the prosecutor must prove that you intentionally took goods from a retail establishment. Even if you never made it out of the establishment with the items, Colorado courts presume that anyone who conceals unpurchased items while inside the store is guilty of shoplifting.
Embezzlement is the stealing or misappropriating of property that has been entrusted to you. This typically involves taking money or goods from an employer and occurs when you have access to employer credit cards, bank accounts, or other normally private information that allows you to take the goods inappropriately and unlawfully.
Passing Bad Checks
According to Colorado law, it is illegal to pay for something with a check when you know that you don’t have enough funds available in the account to cover the purchase.
Theft Penalties in Pueblo, Colorado
Penalties for misdemeanor and felony larceny depend on the amount of money or goods you’re convicted of stealing.
- At least $50 but less than $300: Class 3 misdemeanor. Up to 6 months in jail and a fine of between $50 and $750.
- $300 to less than $750: Class 2 misdemeanor. Three to 12 months in jail and a fine of between $250 and $1,000.
- $750 to less than $2,000: Class 1 misdemeanor. Six to 18 months in jail and a fine of between $500 and $5,000.
- $2,000 to less than $5,000: Class 6 felony. One to 1.5 years in state prison with one year of mandatory parole and a fine of between $1,000 and $100,000.
- $5,000 to less than $20,000: Class 5 felony. One to three years in prison, two years of mandatory parole, and a fine of between $1,000 and $100,000.
- $20,000 to less than $100,000: Class 4 felony. Two to six years in prison with three years of mandatory parole, and a fine of between $2,000 and $500,000.
- $100,000 to less than $1,000,000: Class 3 felony. Four to 12 years in prison with a mandatory five years of parole and a fine of between $3,000 and $750,000.
- $1,000,000 or more: Class 2 felony. Eight to 24 years in prison with a mandatory five years of parole and a fine of between $5,000 and $1,000,000.
Defendants who are convicted of larceny may also be required to pay restitution. It’s also possible to be sentenced to probation instead of jail time.
Contact Anaya & Chadderdon, P.C. Today
Some theft charges are more serious than others, like robbery, but no matter which offense you have been charged with, it should be taken seriously. If you or a loved one was arrested or have questions about anything related to theft charges in Colorado, Anaya & Chadderdon, P.C. would be happy to assist. We are aggressive and dedicated litigators and will do whatever it takes to defend you and get the best outcome for your case. Contact us today for a free consultation.