Call Today for a Free Consultation

Pueblo Robbery Defense Attorney

If you or a loved one was charged with robbery, you face severe consequences and should contact a Pueblo criminal defense attorney right away. At Anaya & Chadderdon, P.C., we have been handling robbery cases for years. When you hire us, you can be certain that you’re hiring someone who cares about your case as much as you do. If you need help or just have questions about robbery charges in Pueblo, Colorado, call us today and set up a free consultation with our Pueblo lawyers.

Pueblo Robbery Charges

In Colorado, there are three types of robbery charges, including:


Robbery is defined as knowingly taking something of value from another person or in the presence of another person using force, a threat of force, or intimidation. Robbery is a class 4 felony, and the possible penalties include two to six years in prison with 3 years of mandatory parole, and a fine of up to $500,000.

Aggravated Robbery

In order to be convicted of aggravated robbery, one of the following criteria must be met at any point during the robbery or in the immediate flight from the robbery:

  • The alleged robber or an accomplice was armed with a deadly weapon, and if the victim resisted, the alleged robber or accomplice had the intent to kill, maim, or wound the victim or another person;
  • The alleged robber or an accomplice knowingly wounded or struck another person with a deadly weapon, OR, through force, threats, or intimidation with a deadly weapon knowingly put the victim or any other person in reasonable fear of death or bodily injury; OR
  • The alleged robber claimed to be armed with a deadly weapon or possessed anything used or fashioned in a manner to lead someone else to reasonably believe that it was a deadly weapon.

In Colorado, aggravated robbery is a class 3 felony, and the possible penalties include between four and 16 years in prison with 5 years of mandatory parole and a fine of up to $750,000. If, during the robbery, the defendant used or threatened to use a deadly weapon OR if anyone was seriously injured, the maximum prison sentence increases to 32 years, with 10 years as a mandatory minimum sentence.

Aggravated Robbery of a Controlled Substance

To be convicted of aggravated robbery of a controlled substance, the prosecutor must prove the following elements:

  1. The defendant committed an aggravated robbery, AND
  2. The purpose of the robbery was to steal a controlled substance from a pharmacy or pharmacist OR another place or person who lawfully possessed the drugs.

Aggravated robbery of a controlled substance is a class 2 felony, and the possible penalties include 16 to 48 years in prison with a mandatory 5 years of parole, and a fine of between $5,000 and $1,000,000.

What is a Deadly Weapon?

Under Colorado law, a deadly weapon is defined as a firearm (loaded or unloaded), a knife, or other weapon or object that is capable of producing death or serious bodily injury.

Let Our Pueblo Robbery Attorneys Assist You

Whether you or a loved one was charged with theft, robbery or aggravated robbery, the consequences are severe and can be lifelong. At Anaya & Chadderdon, P.C., our attorney has been handling these types of criminal charges for years. As a firm with former prosecutor experience, we have a unique perspective and ability to anticipate the prosecutor’s arguments and defend you accordingly. Contact us today for a free and confidential case consultation.