Pueblo Harassment Defense Lawyer
Like all crimes, harassment is serious and can carry severe consequences. If you have been arrested for harassment, are being questioned by the police, or have questions about any other issues related to criminal law, you should consider contacting a criminal defense lawyer right away. Anaya & Chadderdon, P.C. can help. Contact us today for a free case consultation.
What Is Harassment in Colorado?
In Colorado, it is illegal to intentionally bother, annoy, or alarm someone by repeatedly engaging in one of the following behaviors:
- Constantly contacting them
- Making obscene gestures
- Hitting them
- Following them in public
- Striking or shoving them
- Repeatedly taunting a person in a way that is likely to cause them to engage in an unlawful response – using fighting words
This is considered harassment. In Colorado, it is regarded as a class 3 misdemeanor and carries up to 6 months in jail and a fine of between $50 and $750.
Examples of Harassment
Examples of harassment include the following:
- Spitting on another person
- Pushing, hitting, or kicking another person
- Following a person for several blocks as a way to bother, annoy, or alarm them
- Sending someone threatening text messages
In order to be convicted of harassment, you must have engaged in one of those illegal actions and intend to harass, annoy, or alarm another person. If you send someone a text message that they find alarming, but you didn’t intend for it to be threatening or a bother, or to intentionally annoy or alarm them, you shouldn’t be convicted of harassment.
Harassment Can be a Class 3 Misdemeanor
In some circumstances, harassment can be a class 3 misdemeanor, which is more severe than a class 1. If you’re accused of harassing someone on the basis of race, color, religion, ancestry, national origin, sexual orientation, physical disability, or mental disability, it is a class 3 misdemeanor, which carries between six and 18 months in jail and a fine of between $500 and $5,000.
It’s also common for victims of harassment to take out protection orders against the defendant, and it is a crime in and of itself to violate the conditions of the protection order.
While your Pueblo defense lawyer will develop the best strategy to defend you, it can be helpful for you to understand the possible defenses as well. Some of the most common defenses against harassment in Colorado include the following:
- No intent to harass, annoy, or alarm anyone.
This is one of the primary elements of a harassment charge. If the prosecutor cannot prove that the defendant intended to harass, annoy, or alarm anyone, they can’t be convicted of harassment – even if their behavior annoyed or alarmed the alleged victim.
- The defendant was falsely accused
If you can show that the alleged victim has falsely accused you, this can be a valid defense. For example, the victim received threatening text messages from a certain phone number, and they believe it was sent by the defendant. The defendant and their attorney can show that the phone number doesn’t belong to the defendant, helping to prove that they weren’t responsible for sending the messages.
Contact Anaya & Chadderdon, P.C. in Pueblo Today
If you need help with a harassment charge, Anaya & Chadderdon, P.C. is here to help. Our dedicated Pueblo harassment defense attorneys will do whatever it takes to help you get the best outcome for your case. As a firm with former prosecutor experience, we understand how to anticipate the other side’s argument and develop the best strategy possible. Contact Anaya & Chadderdon, P.C. today for a free and confidential consultation with a Pueblo defense attorney.