Pueblo Drug Charges Attorney
Drug charges are serious and can carry severe consequences. Anytime you have been questioned by the police or arrested for drug charges, you should consider contacting a criminal defense lawyer right away. If you’re looking for an experienced criminal defense attorney who truly cares about every client they represent, look no further. Anaya & Chadderdon, P.C. is here to help. Contact our Pueblo drug charge attorneys today for a free and confidential case evaluation.
Drug Use and Drug Possession
While still serious charges, drug use and drug possession charges are less severe than some of the others. In Colorado, drug possession and use can be charged as felonies in some circumstances, but they’re typically charged as misdemeanors. Ultimately, whether the offense is charged as a felony or misdemeanor depends on the type of substance and the amount of that substance.
Petty Drug Offenses in Pueblo
In Colorado, petty drug offenses are the least severe. If you possess up to two ounces of marijuana, it is a petty offense. You can be sentenced to a fine of up to $100 and 24 hours of community service if the marijuana is used or displayed in public.
If you’re charged with possessing a prescribed controlled substance in a container that it wasn’t originally dispensed in, or you possessed paraphernalia, you could be fined up to $100.
Level 1 Drug Felony
On the other end of the spectrum are the most severe penalties for drug offenses – level 1 drug felonies. This type of drug offense carries the harshest penalties. Level 1 drug felonies include the most serious cases of selling a controlled substance, including the following:
- Selling more than 225 grams of a schedule I or II drug, or selling more than 112g of heroin, methamphetamine, ketamine, cathinone, or more than 50mg of flunitrazepam.
- Selling Schedule I or II controlled substances to a minor if the adult is two or more years older than the minor.
- Selling more than 2.5 pounds of marijuana to a minor, or more than 1 pound of marijuana concentrate to a minor if the adult is two or more years older than the minor.
- Selling more than 50 pounds of marijuana or more than 25 pounds of marijuana concentrate.
The presumptive sentence for a level 1 drug felony in Colorado is eight to 32 years in state prison, and a fine between $5,000 and $1 million, as well as three years on parole. If aggravating factors exist in your case, this increases the presumptive sentence to twelve to 32 years in state prison.
Alternatives to Jail
If you’ve been charged with a drug crime in Colorado, you may have the opportunity to seek treatment or have your case heard in Veterans Court or Mental Health Court. It’s also possible to receive a probation sentence for drug crimes in Colorado. This can be an excellent option, as the goal is to help the defendant avoid incarceration and often seek treatment. Before a defendant is sentenced to jail time for a level 4 drug felony in Colorado, the courts are required to exhaust all reasonable and appropriate alternative sentences before sentencing a defendant to jail or prison.
Contact Anaya & Chadderdon, P.C. For Help With Your Pueblo Drug Case
If you’ve been arrested for a drug offense or you are being questioned by the police for any reason, Anaya & Chadderdon, P.C. can help. Our Pueblo criminal defense attorneys have been practicing for many years, have all of the knowledge and experience necessary to fight your case from beginning to end. Contact us today for a free and confidential case consultation.