Colorado Springs Murder & Manslaughter Attorney
If you’ve been accused or think you may be accused of murder or manslaughter in the state of Colorado, you need the best possible murder & manslaughter defense attorney. Contact us at Anaya & Chadderdon, P.C. for a free consultation so that we can begin to build your case immediately.
Taking a life is considered the worst of all possible crimes in the state of Colorado, which prioritizes human life above all else. If you are facing homicide charges or charges for violent crimes of any kind, it is critical that you retain a Colorado Springs criminal defense attorney with experience.
Categories of Homicide in Colorado Springs
Colorado law has several different classes of homicide crimes, including first-degree and second-degree murder, manslaughter, and criminally negligent homicide. The law determines how a particular crime is categorized by examining the evidence at hand, the facts surrounding the case, and the individuals involved in the related legal proceedings.
First-degree murder is a Class 1 felony that is punishable by life in prison. Parole may not be an option. A crime is considered a first-degree murder if it results in the loss of life, was carried out with the intention to deprive another individual of their life, and was premeditated.
If the death occurs during the commission of another felony crime, including crimes like arson, kidnapping, robbery, burglary, or rape, it is a class 2 felony homicide. Felony homicide, while it has a different name, does not carry the same penalties as first-degree murder.
Second-degree murder is a Class 2 felony in Colorado, which can result in a prison sentence of up to 24 years, with a minimum sentence of 8 years. Second-degree murder, unlike first-degree murder, doesn’t require premeditation. However, it must have malicious intent.
For example, someone who hits another person with a blunt object during a sudden bar argument may be charged with second-degree murder if the victim dies as a result. This is despite the fact that the accused didn’t plan to kill the victim ahead of time.
Second-degree murder can also be classed as a Class 3 felony in Colorado if it is determined that the defendant was seriously provoked by the victim. The prison sentence for this crime is 4-12 years.
Manslaughter is a Class 4 felony which is punishable by a sentence of 2-6 years in prison. Voluntary manslaughter is characterized as behaving recklessly in a manner that results in another person’s death. Unlike murder, manslaughter does not require malicious intent or premeditation. Even accidental cases of death can be labeled manslaughter.
Colorado Springs Murder & Manslaughter Lawyers
If you’ve been accused of these crimes or any other, like assault, it’s critical that you retain strong legal counsel. Here at Anaya & Chadderdon, P.C., we can provide you with the aggressive, effective, confident legal counsel you need when facing manslaughter or murder charges. Contact our Colorado Springs murder and manslaughter defense attorneys today for a consultation and to begin building your case.