Colorado Springs Concealed Carry Permit Attorneys
Colorado law requires a concealed carry (CCW) permit in order to legally possess and carry a firearm that is not visible to the casual observer. As a “must-issue” state, Colorado will authorize CCW permits for anyone who is 21 or older and who is not legally prohibited from owning a firearm.
Sharing more about concealed carry laws in Colorado, here are helpful answers about the qualifications, costs, and application process associated with CCW permits in Colorado. While this information is vital to Coloradans who have or intend to own a gun, a criminal defense attorney at Anaya & Chadderdon, P.C. is here for you if you are facing gun charges in Colorado.
Who Can Get a Concealed Carry Permit in Colorado?
Colorado residents who are at least 21 years old can be eligible for a CCW permit if they:
- Are not barred from firearm ownership under Colorado or federal law
- Are not under a protection order that prohibits them from possessing a firearm
- Are not addicts or habitual users of alcohol and/or controlled substances
- Have not been convicted of perjury related to a CCW permit application
- Have proof of completing a firearm safety and competence course or a qualifying exception, like proof of military service and honorable discharge
Coloradans who do obtain a CCW permit and intend to carry concealed weapons with them are required, by law, to carry their permit and their Colorado ID (driver’s license or state ID card) with them.
How Do I Apply for CCW Permit in Colorado?
CCW permit applications are available at local sheriff’s departments. Once you obtain the application:
- Complete all required fields of the form: In addition to name and contact info, you need to list previous addresses over the past decade, driver’s license info, and more. Never provide false or misleading statements on your application. It can be considered perjury.
- Submit it to your local sheriff with the required fees: The EPCS charges a $135 fee for CCW applications. Fees cover the costs of background and fingerprint checks, as well as processing fees. Fees in other counties may vary, and EPCS CCW permit applications are subject to change.
- Provide the required supporting documentation: Depending on your application and situation, supporting documentation may include proof of honorable discharge from the military. It may also be proof of completing an approved handgun safety and training course.
Once you submit an application for a CCW, you will need to sign the application in front of a witness at the sheriff’s department. Then:
- You need to provide fingerprints.
- A copy of your driver’s license, along with a color passport-style photo, will need to be provided to the authorities reviewing your application.
- Your application will go under review. The time it takes to review applications and issue a decision will vary by department.
The El Paso County Sheriff (EPCS) has more information on CCW permits and applications.
How Much Do Colorado CCW Permits Cost?
The cost of a CCW permit will depend on the county in which you are applying for it. In El Paso, the cost for the application alone is $135. As of January 1, 2020, the cost of renewal is $63. Renewals can be obtained within 120 days before a CCW permit expires.
Please be aware that additional fees may apply, and these costs are subject to change. It’s best to contact your local sheriff’s office for a precise answer about the costs. Here is a list of and contact info for all Colorado sheriff’s departments.
How Long Is My Concealed Carry Permit Good For in Colorado?
From the date it’s issued, a Colorado CCW permit is good for 5 years. With expiration dates and valid CCWs in Colorado, it’s also important to know that:
- Sheriffs will not renew CCWs six months after they have expired. You will have to reapply for a new CCW permit if an old one expired more than six months ago.
- At any point, sheriffs may revoke or refuse to issue CCWs permits whenever they suspect misrepresentation or that individuals are no longer eligible to hold these permits.
- If a sheriff does revoke or refuse to issue a CCW permit, they must notify the holder or applicant in writing, explaining the reasons for their decision.
What Restrictions Come with CCW Permits in Colorado?
Colorado law does set fort some restrictions for concealed carry permits, prohibiting them for individuals who:
- Habitually use alcohol and/or drugs: A history of in-patient treatment for alcoholism and/or prior drug convictions are a couple of examples of things that may present challenges or bars to obtaining a concealed carry permit in Colorado.
- Have at least two DUI convictions on their criminal record: If the drunk driving convictions occurred within the past decade, again, the chances of obtaining a CCW permit can be low.
Beyond the prohibitions specific to individuals, concealed carry laws in Colorado also restrict:
- The places where firearms can be carried: CCW permit holders are still prohibited by law from carrying concealed weapons in public schools, public buildings, and anywhere it is banned under federal law.
- The right to refuse showing ID to police: If law enforcement officers ask to see ID and a CCW permit, the law requires you to provide this documentation to authorities. Failing to have and/or failing to show law enforcement a valid state-issued ID and a valid CCW permit can be charged as a Class 1 petty offense, punishable by up to 6 months in jail and up to $500 in fines.
How Can I Fight Allegations of Violating Concealed Carry Laws in Colorado?
Criminal charges related to concealed carry laws in Colorado can arise whenever an individual is accused of:
- Illegally concealing a weapon: For example, a felon who is not legally allowed to possess a firearm could face these charges if (s)he is found to have a hidden firearm on his or her person. Similarly,
- Concealing an illegal weapon: These weapons could include machine guns, short-barrelled shotguns, and other prohibited firearms.
The best defense against these allegations will depend on the facts and evidence of a given case. Generally, however, an effective defense against these charges can involve arguing that:
- The accused person does own the firearm and was not knowingly carrying it.
- The firearm was not, in fact, concealed and the accused individual was legally entitled to carry it openly.
- The firearm was planted or its location was misidentified.
Get Exceptional Defense Representation Against Colorado Gun Offense Charges
No matter how much you know about concealed carry permit laws and other firearms statutes in Colorado, sometimes, things go wrong. When they do and you or a loved one has been accused of a weapons offense, you can turn to a 5-star criminal defense attorney at Anaya & Chadderdon, P.C. for fierce advocacy and tireless defense representation.
With more than 30 years of criminal trial experience, we are former prosecutors who are highly effective at building and presenting strong, strategic defense cases. Whether you are facing misdemeanor or felony gun charges for the first or a subsequent time, Anaya & Chadderdon, P.C. can help you fight for the best possible outcomes at every phase of your case.
Call (719) 259-5082 or Email Us for a Free, Confidential Consultation
We are available 24/7 to answer your questions, help you understand the process, and defend you and your rights. We can meet you and/or a loved one at our Colorado Springs office or jail. We can also discuss your case over the phone. Do NOT plead guilty without talking to an attorney at Anaya & Chadderdon, P.C. There may be options you don’t know about, and we can crucially represent you when it’s time to interact with police, judges, and others.
The sooner we’re in your corner helping you, the sooner you can be confident you have an ally fighting to pursue optimal resolutions. We always strive to get cases dismissed or charges reduced, whenever possible. When it’s necessary to fight it out in trial, our lawyers will be ready, bringing all available resources to present the strongest possible case.